November 25th: Old Friends

Good evening all,

It’s funny, I chose this as today’s song around noon today. Seeing as I just hungout with some Old Friends it seems like I just made an overtly convenient decision. I did, but not for that reason.

The past few days I’ve been thinking about one of the happiest moments I’ve had at a live show. This past summer I saw Pinegrove perform to a dedicated fan-base at the oft-flighty Pitchfork Music Fest. I make that latter comment because this sort of emotional reaction to a smaller show at such a fest is uncommon; as someone who was only 5-listens of 1 album-deep into his awareness of this band, this response became profound. People were having a spiritual experience and it was awe-inspiring.

I’m aware of the accusations against the band-leader. I’m not trying to alleviate, underplay, or under value them. Everyone’s relationship with everything is complicated, I view too many things as if they exist in a vacuum, and my connection to music is unbridled and sometimes aggressively – albeit inadvertently – irreverent.

The music always speaks for itself.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑